Legacy

To be honest, I’m not really feeling this prompt. Maybe on another day it would be fine, but I’ve been hoping for something more light-hearted. How about the word “joyous”? I could think of a lot of things that relate to that.

Legacy refers to something passed down, or left behind after someone has died. It doesn’t have to be a physical thing. A lot of times it’s the things that we learned from our parents; both good and bad. I’m sticking with the good. flwrs5

My Mom has been gone for 14 years now. It seems like a long time, but then it doesn’t. I still get tearful about her, but at least it’s not as sudden as it used to be.

So, anyway, I’m thinking about the things she’s passed down to me just by being her. Her kindness. I strive to be as kind as she was. Her work ethic. I could never keep up with her. She had acres of vegetable gardens, an orchard, a small vineyard, cows that she milked, pigs. She did most of it herself. We helped pick the beans & strawberries & apples but she took care of it all herself. Plus the house and 4 kids. I’ll never be able to match that, but I do the best I can.

The openness of trying different foods. “How do you know you don’t like it if you haven’t tried it?” We had a lot of weird things to try while I was growing up. Being as how they would send a beef cow to the processing plant, we got ALL of the edible parts. Some things  were surprisingly good. Some were not for me, but my brother liked it. So hey, it worked out. Some things I still eat and crave. Peanut butter and dill pickle sandwiches. Most people say “Yuck!” But how do you know you don’t like it if you’ve never tried it? 🙂

