Tricky

Ahhh. Tricky. So many things are tricky. Things we do, things we say. I’ve been in some really tricky situations where I wondered how I got there. Some I knew how I got there and wondered why I made the decision that got me there. The following is one of those times.

When I was young, my best friend and I would ride horses all over the area. Most of our neighbors knew we were good kids and would let us ride on their land. They knew that we wouldn’t chase their cows or do something that would damage their property. So we were really lucky to have a lot of real estate to explore.

My mare was what we call “hot” in equine terms. She always wanted to go and was high spirited. It was one of the things I loved about her. She was a good horse, but she put me on the lightening fast track on learning to ride. She was an Arabian and because of that, her back was shorter than the stock horses that lived in the area. The saddle that my parents got for her was too big, plus when I first got her (I was 10), it was way too heavy for me to heave up onto her back. So 99% of the time I rode bareback.

One time when we were riding in some woods, I decided to take this path that was on a ledge alongside a steep rock wall. I thought it looked like it’d be fun and it was at first. Until it got too narrow to continue. I was in a tricky situation for sure. It was too narrow to turn around, and if my mare got nervous, we could go off the edge which was probably a 10-20 foot drop. That may not seem like a lot but when you’re on a 1,000 lb animal it puts a new perspective on things.It was definitely not an option for me. There was no room for me to get off either. Usually she was fidgety and dancing to go, but this time I think she knew she needed to be calm. She slowly and carefully backed out until we had space to turn around. My heart was pounding and I’m certain she knew I was scared. She took care of me and I couldn’t have loved her more in that moment. It’s something I’ll never forget and the first thing I thought of when I saw the word “tricky”.

 

