Kripes it’s hard being an adult. There are so many things I have to do that I don’t want  to do. Then there are the things I want to do that I can’t do because of the things I have  to do. Mom always taught us: “Get your chores done first and then you can play”. What she neglected to tell me was that as an adult, the chores would far outnumber the play.

Like my situation at the moment. We recently moved and due to health issues, I haven’t been able to set up my new house the way I want it. For example, there are no pictures on the wall, and there is still a room full of boxes to be dealt with. Plus, there’s the old house that has to be spruced up in order to sell it. If there’s anyone reading this that would rather be washing windows than doing something fun, raise your hand……

Yeah, I didn’t think so. Me either. But now I have to force myself to go over there and do crap that I don’t want to do. Because I’m an adult and that’s what responsible adults do. For some very odd reason Hubs does not see the level of importance in those chores at the old house that I do. I feel an urgency to get it done and over with (as is my way with a lot of things that have to be done), especially as I feel we have a small window of opportunity to get the house on the market while it’s still spring. Or, my fear: while it’s still this year.

Anyway, in a nutshell, I have two houses to deal with at this point in time. The old one being all drudgery and yuck, even though the painting part was a bit fun. But I had to stay within the parameters of “neutral” colors. If you’ve seen any of my posts, you know that I adore color, so it’s difficult for me to go white and beige everywhere.

The new house has more fun what with decorating and putting my chotchkes here and there. It still requires cleaning and time though. And all of that unboxing and putting things where they go are still things I have to do. It does make it feel more like my home as it gets done. I’ll admit that. Even after all of these months, I really don’t feel like I’ve gotten to bond with my house. That may sound weird, but maybe some women will understand what I mean.

Well, it’s a beautiful day outside and I’d better get my duds on and get over to the old house and start working on it. I’ve had my fun blogging before I’ve gotten my chores done. Oops! Sorry Mom! 😉

This is NOT my house, btw. Although it feels very similar. 🙂

antiquestore1-92015

