Buddies

Buddy

The Daily Prompt is “Buddy”. What does that mean to me? Well, if you’ve read some of my posts, you may have realized that I’m not much of a “people person”. I’m an introvert and don’t crave socialization. Where most people relate to situations involving other people, I generally think of situations involving animals.

It’s not that I don’t enjoy interacting with people, especially the people that I’ve met on these blogs. I do enjoy it. It’s just that I don’t instantly think of “people” when a prompt shows up. Just wanted to explain that a bit.

Anyway, with that being said, most of my buddies through life have been dogs, cats or horses. I guess my Hubs is a buddy, but man, he can be a real P.I.T.A. sometimes. (Note: PITA= pain in the ass. I named a horse Pita once, because she truly was one.)

My animal buddies don’t have to understand why I do things, or why I think a certain way. They have been there for me when I needed some companionship, a hug, someone to vent to, and they have loved me without question. We’ve had a lot of fun together and they’ve made me laugh. A lot. I don’t have to worry about hurting their feelings or if they misunderstand what I meant.

Riding my horses has always been cathartic. Just walking along, going places, seeing things. My buddy and I. I seriously miss it. I’ve been horseless for about 3 or 4 years now, from a lifetime of having them. It’s been a huge adjustment.

181

I don’t have any cats anymore. I had two that I’d had since they were kittens and they lived to be 12 & 13 yrs old. It’s not that I don’t love cats. I do. We just haven’t gotten any more since those two. The love of a cat is a special thing.

I still have my dogs although I’m down to just 4 now. I did have 9 Schnauzers, a Doberman Pinscher, an Irish Setter and a F.O.R.D. (Found On Road Dog). The Dobe and the FORD would go horseback riding with me and they really enjoyed it. They were my riding buddies. The Mini Schnauzers were too little to go, but I always enjoy their company. They’re big dogs in little dog bodies and full of vitality. If I’m feeling down, all I have to do is sit on the floor and I’m instantly covered in dogs. (Sometimes just sitting on the couch I get covered in dogs. 🙂 ) It was a bit much when I had all 9 of them, but now that there’s only 4, it’s easier to give each one their fair share of kisses and scratching. It makes my heart and soul feel much better. Isn’t that what a buddy does? Well, besides steal all the heat from your floor heater…. There are 5 there.

dogs212508

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Buddies

Add yours

    1. Thank you! She was actually very black, but in that picture, she’s pretty sun-bleached. If I knew how to put a picture in this reply, I’d show a better example of her.
      She was as beautiful inside as she was on the outside, if not more so.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

