Do you ever have one of those deals where whenever you hear a certain word it reminds you of a certain time or person or event? I’ve just recently had one implanted into my brain with “epitome”. It wasn’t planned or intentional, but it’s there now and there’s no way to undo it.

I was watching TV the other night and on the show there was this woman who was bashing a guy who was also on the show. It’s one of those competition shows with teams. Anyway, the dude wasn’t on her team, and he was deserving of the criticism that she was doleing out, even though it was behind his back. He really was an insufferable egomaniac. But I wasn’t all that fond of the woman either because of her attitude and shirking of responsibilites. 

Anyway, what forever locked this event to the the word “epitome” for me is that she was bashing away and said he was the “epitome of arrogance”. But she didn’t pronounce it       eh-pit-uh-me, she pronounced it  ep-i-tohm, with a long “o”.  I immediately busted out laughing. Here she was, being all arrogant and better-than, smarter-than-you and she didn’t know how to pronounce the word. I guess she hadn’t ever heard the word, or didn’t put the written word with the spoken word… I don’t know.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’ve mangled a ton of words in my day, and I apologize for it. (Sorry to all the words that I’ve mangled and broken and left along the way.) And I’m not one to write the perfect sentence (clearly). I write pretty much like I speak. If a person writes in a strict proper form, then more power to them. I don’t have a problem with it. I also don’t have a problem with people mispronouncing a word. It happens. There’s no telling how many times I’ve done it. I’m not pointing  my finger at the woman because she mispronounced the word. I’m pointing it because she was so into her superiority and was always bragging on herself and how great she was. Which that sort of thing always irritates me a lot. I’m pointing the finger at her because she fumbled the ball and proved that she wasn’t any better than anyone else. It was proof that it doesn’t pay to act like you’re better than everyone around you. Nobody corrected her, but I thought it was funny that they didn’t edit it out of the show either.

I guess she got her comeuppance (had to look that one up to be sure it was used & spelled  correctly) by her own doing. But now, she and her mistake are forever locked to the word for me. Thanks lady. Thanks a lot.

heckman07

 

 

 

 

Epitome

