DP-Open or Closed

Open.

Open your eyes! Open arms. Open doors. Open heart. Open personality. Open to suggestion. Open to ideas.

Ugh. If you’re not open does that mean that you’re a closed-off, cold-hearted insensitive person? In my case, a b****?  I don’t think so. But maybe so. I have a T-shirt that says “I’m confused. Wait, maybe I’m not.”

So yeah, I’m confused. Does being open make you vulnerable? I feel that it does. I don’t think extroverts feel that way though. I’ve talked about introverts & extroverts before. I understand extroverts but their method of operation is so foreign to me that I tend to watch them with fascination. How can they be so open?  My sister is a prime example. She loves being around people. She went to college for a marketing degree. If she goes on vacation, she goes to a crowded place, like a big city. Kill. Me. Now.  I’m not kidding. That would be a torture for me.

Some days I’m ok with being around a few people. Not every day. If you drop me into a room with a bunch of people, first off I’ll be pissed. Secondly I’ll close up like a clam shell on the ocean floor. Or a turtle, leaving enough of an opening to observe the surroundings. I know. Seems weird. I’m sure it is to some people. If I’ve prepared myself for being in a crowd, I’ll do my best to make small talk for as long as I can.

If I’m in a room with a bunch of people, I won’t compete for conversation. Put  me in a room with just a couple people and I’m fine. I can give adequate attention to each one. Nobody gets neglected and I don’t get swamped. I don’t have to be fully open and I can keep my space. Everybody gets conversation and is happy.

Anyway, I don’t think everyone has to be open all the time. We do what’s comfortable for us. If you want to be open, that’s great. I think we need both extroverts and introverts. One is not better than the other. They’re just different.

 

 

Open

Comments are always welcome.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

