Genius

Relish you say? I relish relish. It’s the bomb! I started writing this post before I saw the DP for today. So of course I had to attach it to the DP!

This example of everyday life made me bust out laughing and shake my head in disbelief almost at the same time. Therefore, I will share it with you. Share the joy, I say.

First, I have to say, I love Sonic drive-ins. If you don’t, that’s cool.  I’ve heard some states don’t have them and I’m sorry. Yes, they’re fast food..blah, blah, blah. I love ’em and I’m not apologizing.

They recently, in the last year or two started having hotdogs. Triple yay!! They’ve always had footlong chili dogs, which were ok. But now they started having 3 new hotdogs. (Spellcheck says hotdog isn’t one word. It’s not a hot dog as in overly warm pooch, so I don’t think Spellcheck knows what a hotdog is. I could be totally wrong, as usual.) Now they have the All American dog (ketchup, mustard, onions and relish), the New York dog which I know has sauerkraut on it, maybe something else. I only tried it once. And last but certainly not least- the Chicago dog. This one is a bit higher priced because it has mustard, relish, pickles, tomatoes, onions and “sport” peppers. I don’t know what a “sport” pepper is, but I love them. I hate tomatoes, so I ask for them to leave those off. Also if a hotdog has ketchup, that is a crime against nature in my book. Ketchup is for french fries. Mustard is for hotdogs; and onion rings; and hamburgers. I’m a mustard fanatic. Live with it.

Need I say that the Chicago dog is my favorite? Ok. I won’t. But it is. One glorious day, Sonic had ALL of their hotdogs available in footlong form. I swear, a beam of light from the heavens shone down on the drive-in that day. I know I heard a choir of angels, but Hubs says it was the dogs howling across the street. No matter, it was good enough for me.

Although they’re not officially on the menu, I’ve had a few of the Chicago dogs in footlong form since that day. So I didn’t think anything of it when I ordered this one. I always get it without tomatoes and since I hate those poppy seed buns, I ask them to put it on a regular bun. Easy-peasy right? I’m not one of those people that has to have custom food every time they order. I know people like that. It’s like they’re ordering a custom coffee from Starbucks every time. No this, add that and can I get this on it? But not too much of this. Geeminy that annoys the crap out of me. Just order off the freaking menu for the love of humanity! With me, I figure I’m saving them money by leaving the tomatoes off anyway. Use them on somebody else’s order.

Ok. I digress. So I order this Chicago dog footlong. Take it home. Take it out of the sleeve and this is what I see.

Date taken July 14,2016

Clearly someone was confused and blindsided by the idea of a Chicago dog footlong. I consider this confusion to be due to the fact that they weren’t listening when I said “regular bun”. If they had paid attention, they wouldn’t have had the obvious dilemma that I’m picturing that they had.

“Dude. The poppy seed buns don’t come in a footlong size!”

“I know man! What’re we gonna do?  I know! We’ll just use two of the regular sized buns.”

“Yeah! That’ll work! But the customer might get PO’d if we don’t use the footlong weiner. I mean, she might want that extra inch of weiner.”

(I’m sure there was much chuckling and elbowing with that statement. Remember the high IQ of these geniuses.)

I appreciate the fact that they thought to cover the exposed part of that extra inch of weiner with a pepper. I  mean, how much  more shocking would it have been to unsleeve the dog and see it exposed like this? Kudos for modesty there.

I’m glad I waited to take it home before eating it. I don’t know how I would’ve been able to deal with that extra inch in the car. And I’ll leave it at that.

hotdog2

8 thoughts on “Genius

Add yours

  1. HAHAHAHHAH!!! You’ve got to admire their ingenuity if nothing else…and this little story of yours underscores the unwritten rule “ALWAYS CHECK THE FOOD BEFORE YOU LEAVE THE WINDOW”. (sorry that’s in caps..I’m not shouting, I swear). I was guilty of breaking that rule yesterday and had to traipse back to the fast food place and get them to ‘fix’ the problem (replace the item). And that hotdog, regardless of bun, looks very appealing indeed. Hmm. You’ve given me a great idea for dinner…there is a local Sonic here and I’ve not had a Chicago dog (mine is sans onions and peppers) in a long time…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually do check to make sure it’s all there. But I haven’t been unwrapping the stuff. I was lulled into a false sense of security since I’d ordered it several times before. Glad you enjoyed the post. 🙂

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

