I Love You So Much

I asked Hubs what he wanted for Valentine’s Day. He said “Nothing. I don’t need anything.” I thought “Well of course you don’t need anything! Yay! I’ve met all of your needs! I’m your wife!”  Which is a joke of course. But in all honesty, we really don’t need anything, and we don’t have that many wants.

This day will most likely pass as any other day. He’s not very good at observing holidays. It’s a great accomplishment for him, like at Christmas, if he can get gifts all in one place in the least amount of time possible. As in “Hey! I got this stuff at this one store IN AN HOUR!” (said with much pride and a big grin). I can’t complain. At least he spent the effort to actually go into a store.

We’ll have been married 29 years this year. We’ve been through a lot together and I love him dearly, although some days I’d just like to lock him in the closet and leave him. I’ve decided to write some of the ways I love him, in the more practical ways that people who’ve been together this long view it. At least for me.

  • I love you so much that I clean up your mess when you cook. Every. Single. Time.
  • I love you so much because you cook.
  • I love you so much that I pick up your socks, shirts, underwear, etc. from wherever you’ve dropped them.
  • I love you so much that I buy you socks, shirts, underwear, etc.
  • I love you so much that I will go into the bathroom behind you. After you’ve been in there for a while and it’s toxic.
  • I love you so much that I look for you when you come home from work.
  • I love you so much that I still get a thrill when I finally see you.
  • I love you so much that there’s no better place to be than cuddled up with you.
  • I love you so much that I’ll sit and (sort of) watch basketball with you, even though I don’t like basketball.
  • I love you so much that it doesn’t bother me to go to McDonald’s for Valentine’s Day.
  • I love you so much that I drop what I’m doing just to go with you into town if only to go to the post office or the bank.
  • I  love you so much because you ask me to go with you into town.
  • I love you so much because you still hold my hand.
  • I love you so much because you keep me warm in the wintertime.
  • I love you so much because you keep me safe at all times.
  • I love you so much because I know you love me, through thick and thin, feast and famine, for better or for worse.
happyvalentines
A Valentine fractal that I made. 

 

3 thoughts on “I Love You So Much

Add yours

Comments are always welcome.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

