Black Cat, Blue Sea Award

Awk! The lovely lady at A Sunken Thought has nominated me for this award! I’m still a newb so I’m not really clear on these award things but it’s really nice that she thought of me. I hope I get the protocols right on this.

I don’t know what a black cat and a blue sea have to do with it, but it has a nice ring to it. The award itself is “for bloggers who strive to write for everybody, and no matter how many viewers they get, make an impact on a reader. This award is an expression of gratitude to the nominee. It should be awarded to anybody that you choose deserves it and it doesn’t mean that they must have hundreds of followers and likes.”

This really makes me feel special and important and all that stuff. Thank you ST! I don’t write just to get readers or likes. Of course it’s great that people, no matter how many, read what I write, but my thought is that maybe they can relate to some part of it and think, “Hey, I’m not the only one that that has happened to!” Maybe something will at least make them smile for a minute. Even a minute counts.

bk-cat-bl-sea.jpg

So the rules of this thing are thus:

  1. Anybody nominated can nominate up to seven other bloggers.
  2.  Anybody nominated answers three questions. The questions you ask while nominating can be any three questions. If any of the questions asked are offending or simply do not want to be answered, the nominee does not have to answer them to earn the award.

I’m not big on nominating people. So if the people I nominate don’t want to participate, that’s peachy keen with me. I won’t be upset or think you’re a loser. I’ve passed on several of these things because I didn’t feel comfortable “nominating” people. However, if you’re up to it and want to join in then come on! 🙂

Ok. The three questions that were asked of me were these:

What are your favorite 3 blogs and what makes them so uniquely special to you?

I have more than three that I really enjoy, but will just have to pare it down I guess.

One would have to be A Sunken Thought . Not because she nominated me, but because she writes intelligent, funny, thoughtful posts. They are easy to read, like we’re sitting at a table, having a conversation. Some are funny and snarky, but just honest. I can appreciate some snark. 

Another would be Suze at Obsolete Childhood. She changed the name of her blog to that not too long ago and it’s fabulous. I’m jealous. Not just of her great name, but that fact that she is so witty and sharp of mind. Her posts are never boring and I enjoy reading them every time. She’s done a lot of truly amazing things and I am in awe.

Last but certainly not least would be Cee’s Photography . Good grief her blog is such a playground for me! LOL! It is a feast for the eyes and there are all the things to learn about photography, which I love. The fun challenges are abundant, and she’s such a sweet lady. I mean, when someone who KNOWS how to do something compliments someone who barely knows how to do it… well they are big of heart and full of kindness.
What are three things you’ve learned during your time blogging that you never knew before?

Well, first off, it was quite a challenge just getting my blog up & running. WP is great but they apparently have changed a bunch of stuff and instructions were scattered. It was a treasure hunt to find the information that I needed. I think I’m doing ok now though. I haven’t been blogging very long, since last October, I think.

Secondly, since I like to keep some anonymity, I can have the freedom to write without worrying about what I say or the people around me in my life. I truly enjoy that freedom. I can talk about what’s happened in my life, or what I think without worrying about something being misconstrued and hurting someone’s feelings. People reading my posts can take it or leave it. It’s not personal for them.

Thirdly, although I initially started blogging as an outlet for my thoughts & feelings when I had cancer, it never really stayed in that realm. I talked a little bit about the cancer, sure, but I turned more “toward the light”, to happier things, humour and general thoughts that didn’t have much to do with that.
Do you have 3 favorite movies? If so, what are they and what makes them so amazing?

Oh gosh! Ok. Very few movies make me laugh. Raising Arizona makes me laugh, so it’s one of my favorites. I’m a horsewoman, so there are a lot of “horse movies” that I love. The Man From Snowy River  has been a favorite for a long time. Whenever I was having a down day, I’d always feel better after watching that movie. The chase scene never fails to take my breath away. The cinematography is incredible. I’m having trouble thinking of a third favorite. There are a lot I like, like the Lord of the Rings movies, Pirates of the Caribbean movies, etc. As a side note: I’m really wanting to go see the Secret Life of Pets that’s coming out this weekend. The commercial when the poodle is headbanging to the acid rock and the chihuahua is bouncing on the couch just cracks me up every time. It may end up being one of my favorites.

Ok. Now I have to think up 3 questions for those lucky folks that I nominate. This is a test for me. Ha!

  1. Why do you blog? As in what do  you get out of it, what does it do for you?
  2. What is your favorite thing to do? It can be whatever you enjoy (keep it clean though!) For example, activities like -camping, swimming, parties, driving, cooking, cleaning (? Yeah, I know some people…). Or just relaxing stuff like watching TV, reading, sleeping. Why is it your favorite? 
  3. Where is the best place that you’ve ever been? Why? 

Oh, who to nominate? Again, no pressure to participate!

Cee’s Photography

Sparksfromacombustiblemind

Tornin2

13 thoughts on “Black Cat, Blue Sea Award

Add yours

  1. I am so happy to see you accepted my nomination, and happy beyond words to see I am one of your favorite blogs! Suze is also one of my favorites haha she is so worldly and fun! I will have to check out Cee’s blog, I don’t know that I’ve seen her blog.

    I’ve noticed things changed around the WP world too, but hopefully it isn’t going to make things too difficult. Anonymity is important for a lot of people, but I don’t worry too much about it personally. I guess it is because I’m just too brutally honest with people to care if I upset them. Haha I get called a lot of mean things for being authentically honest.

    Hold on there is a movie about animals having a blast listening to music??? I am going to have to look up trailers for this! Especially if it features happy fun doggies, I love doggies.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee’s photography is absolutely incredible and it is so cool to see that you mentioned her. I LOVE her blog! and of course, I adore Shay…she’s my mini-me..lol…I was kind of surprised to see what you wrote about my blog and am both pleased and humbled by them. thank you so much. I can barely wait for the new pets movie to be released…it reminds me of that commercial you mentioned. I SO want to see it. grats on the award kiddo, you really do deserve it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Hi, thanks for the nomination, which I was happy to accept! Here’s the link if you’d like to read it:
    https://sparksfromacombustiblemind.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/black-cat-blue-sea/
    I too follow Cee…she’s AWESOME. And I’m now following you too…don’t know how I missed out on doing that earlier…but you can blame old timer’s disease on it if you like! 😉 Take care and keep providing us with those beautiful photos and posts! That’s quite a talent!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑