60

RDP- Birthday

(I actually started this post a day before the  RDP came out for “birthday”. Weird how that happens, huh? Also a side note: Tried the new editor. Not a fan. It’s not easier and there’s not really a tut that shows you how to do things with it. I ended up going back to the classic editor to get this thing done.)

I’m gonna turn 60 this month. It’s hard to grasp that fact. It was sort of weird to turn 50, but 60? That’s another story.

fractal

I’ve been here 60 years. Where did all of that time go? And what did I do with it? I’ve been married half of it. A lot has happened during that 60 years, for sure. But have I wasted it? How does one judge that? Whether they’ve wasted their time on earth? I can’t say that I’ve achieved greatness in anything really. I guess I’m good at some things. I’m not famous, I’m not successful in the sense of a career.  Is that a fail?

But I’m happy with myself. I’m not tortured or manipulated by what other people think. I see people who are and it makes me sad. I enjoy simple things like a beautiful sunset or gorgeous flowers, the dogs playing with each other, or snuggling up to Hubs on the couch.

fractal

But I don’t know where I’d land if there was a wasted/not wasted life list. The more I think about it, the more I don’t think I’ve wasted my time here in this life. Do I have regrets? Absolutely. There are a lot of things I’d do differently if I had the chance.

fractal

But all-in-all I treat people with respect. I don’t say things in anger just to hurt someone. If I don’t like someone, I avoid them, or don’t say much to them. I try to help people as much as I can. I try to be a good person.

fractal

In the end, I don’t think I’ll be judged on whether I had a successful career, or if I became famous or whether or not I achieved world peace. I think I’ll be judged on whether or not I tried to be a good person. If I appreciated and was thankful for the things God did for me. My answer will be yes.

fractal

 

6 thoughts on “60

Add yours

  1. Happy Birthday to you (whenever it is). You sound like a wonderful person. I loved this post and I have the same exact thoughts and feelings as you.. I’m right behind you and will be turning 60 next July.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post – the pictures made me ponder along with you, and I love how you’re authentic to yourself! I’m sharing the link in a reply to you that you shared on my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are always welcome.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑