Do I Like My Grey Hair?

A wonderful lady that I’ve met here on WP has discussed on her blog her journey of letting her hair go grey. Rather than take up a lot of space in a comment, I figured I’d do a post on my thoughts on having grey hair.

I guess I could call it a saga. The journey of my hair and I. Just like everyone else, I’ve had it since I was born. Well, mostly. But we’ll touch on that later.

I guess you could say I’ve been involved with hair a little bit more than a lot of people. In my late 20’s I went to cosmetology school. It wasn’t easy. I had to get a loan at the bank for $3,000 which is what the tuition cost at that time. It was a lot of money for me. School was from 8 to 5, five days a week, with Sunday & Monday off, for 5 or 6 months. I had an evening job at a convenience store that I had to get to by 5:30. I worked till 11pm or 12 am, depending on the day. Trying to study after work was a challenge.

Anyway, being a cosmetologist (hairstylist) meant that we tried all sorts of things with each other’s hair. I was never afraid to change the color of my hair. I had pink streaks in my blonde hair 35 years ago. I had dark purple hair too. I’ve also colored a swatch underneath in several rainbow colors. So I think it’s pretty cool how the girls are wearing so many different colors in their hair these days.

Hairstylist Creates Mesmerizing Nature-Inspired Hair Designs (30 Pics) |  Bored Panda
My dark purple was similar to this.
500+ Pretty hair color ideas in 2020 | hair color, hair, hair styles

My hair has been blonde, brown, purple, red and several shades in between. I colored it because it was fun. It was exciting to try different colors. It’s been long, short, permed and straight. It’s also been absent. Well, there were those die-hard (hahaha!) strands that stuck around, but they were few & far between. Literally.  (Think Gollum from “Lord of the Rings”.)

Image result for gollum lotr

My hair was gradually turning grey before the chemo, and I kept coloring it. I loved the color. It was also slightly wavy since that grey hair is so wiry.

hair6

This is what it looked like a few years before chemo. I don’t do selfies, but I wanted to have this for future reference because I liked the color.

Anyway, losing my hair was devastating for me. Talk about being stripped of any identity, that is it. At the time, it was to the bottom of my back. When I found out about the cancer, I had it cut as short as possible and donated it to Children With Hair Loss. I wasn’t gonna let the cancer get it all.

When the chemo was over and my hair started to come back, it was super curly. Which was a definite surprise to me. It had been straight all of my life, except for the slight wave as it greyed. These were tight, strong little curls that would wrap around my finger like a coil.

I had thought about it and decided to just stay grey. I didn’t want to get back into the coloring routine. It was hard to keep the grey roots from showing before and I didn’t want to deal with that again. I worried that maybe it would make me look even older, and maybe it does. I’m sure it does actually. If I’m being honest, it makes me feel older. But really, that’s ok. I AM older, and with some luck, I’ll keep getting older. I’m not ready for the alternative.

I haven’t had it cut since it grew back. I’ve thought about it, I’ve wanted to and I’ve planned on it. But it just hasn’t happened, and now the virus thing has put the kibosh on going to a salon. It’s been a little over 4 years now. My hair is at the middle of my back. The ends are still super curly. BTW, they call those “chemo curls”. The rest of my hair is still somewhat curly. The weight of the length may be pulling some of the curl out. I won’t know if that’s the case until I get it cut into layers. What’s really strange is there are two spots that have completely bone straight hair. I have no idea why. There’s no curl whatsoever in those swatches and they’re in different places on my head. Weird, huh?

But anyway, this stuff is like a bramble thicket now. I don’t do much with it. I keep it up most of the time because it attacks my face continuously. Eating is a real challenge. It’s impossible to see, if there’s any kind of wind. It’s a mix of different shades of grey and there are some places where there is even some brown, so the color isn’t anything special. It’s more coarse and wiry and I’ve broken two large-tooth combs on it. Do I like my grey hair? Honestly, it’s ok. It can be pretty if I work on it. I do recommend the purple shampoo to brighten grey hair up. It takes the dullness out and gives it a little sort of silvery sparkle. Do I wish I still had my long beautiful red hair? It was easier to deal with being straight. The color was pretty. Keeping it colored was a chore though. At least with the grey I’m not forced to go to the salon every 6 weeks. I think after going through all that cancer and chemo stuff, I’m not the same person. So I think no, I don’t wish I still had the previous hair.

I think I will like my hair better once I get it cut and into some sort of style/shape. Right now I could’ve dressed up as a witch at Halloween and scared the heck out of some kids.

I totally understand why women continue to color their hair until the end of their days. Do what feels right, what makes you feel good. Get some highlights or lowlights. Change the color, even if just somewhat. If you want to stop coloring and go grey, then go for it! Talk to your hairstylist and work out a plan to do just that! Enjoy your hair and enjoy your life! Don’t worry about what other people think about grey hair. You’re the one that lives with it, not them.

11 thoughts on “Do I Like My Grey Hair?

Add yours

  1. I love the color of your hair in the selfie…. beautiful color! This post made me laugh because I just told my husband last night that I look like an old gray witch with straggly hair. All I need is a pointy black hat and maybe a few warts. I haven’t gotten it cut in many months and don’t feel safe going to a salon, especially now, with COVID rising. I decided to quit coloring at 60, mainly because I just couldn’t justify spending that much money every few weeks to keep it looking good. I definitely loved the blonde or blonde or gold highlights. I liked the texture of my hair better when I was coloring. I’m a natural blonde with naturally wavy, but also sorta fizzy hair. I’ve found blondes don’t USUALLY have as pretty a gray as brunettes do. Mine is an ugly mousy brown in most places. It’s yucky and I too can understand why women keep coloring. My mother-in-law was gray and then in her 60s she decided to go platinum blonde. She’s 91 now and still coloring it that way!

    Can I ask…. what is a good kind of purple shampoo to buy? Do you prefer a particular brand? And what’s the difference in purple shampoo and blue shampoo? My sister also went gray at 60 and she used a purple shampoo but her hair started looking blue under fluorescent lights. Her hair stylist told her she was using it too much. I am not good with hair at all. I do good to get it in a pony tail. Wish I had some skill in this area, but I don’t.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the kind words Gail. You’re a blonde? That was a surprise when I’ve only seen your avatar with dark hair. Of course you can ask! Blue & purple shampoos are the same. They both cancel out the yellow tones in grey hair and some blondes. It’s not a hair color product so doesn’t change as much as a hair color would. But it can build up in the hair which is why you hear of little blue-haired ladies. It’s not for every day use. More like once a week at first to every other week to just brighten the color. I use it on the white parts of my dogs to get the yellow out too. Again, not a major difference, but it helps to make the white brighter.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my, that Avatar photo is from 1999! I look nothing like that now…. I really should change it. But yes, I was born a blonde. As I aged, my hair got darker and darker before turning an ugly mousy brown in my fifties. I didn’t start coloring until I was in my 40s. My mother always told me never start because then it is hard to stop and I guess she was right. Sometimes I wish I would have listened to her.
        Thanks for the information on the blue and purple shampoos! That was very helpful and I’ll have to try some.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing your going grey story. While my experience going grey was a choice to do so, not because of chemo, I can relate to your feelings of being okay with it now that it is my unique look. My mother-in-law went through chemo too, and her hair came back with a slight curl too. Her gray is a perfect soft color for her complexion. I’m so thankful you’re okay and free of cancer! I actually love my grey hair because of the freedoms it has brought into my life. I haven’t been to the salon in 3 years, and I cut my own hair (which desperately needs a professional cut someday…). I personally didn’t like myself when I struggled every 4-6 weeks with should I color again or not, and why was I doing so in the first place. I think ageism is a real thing, and it has been interesting to watch celebrities and friends and others embrace their grey throughout this pandemic. I’m sure those who enjoy playing with color will find their way to do so. Plus, I found that my head hurt from the coloring chemicals and my sebaceous cyst I had removed I believe was due to all of that. I recently read that those chemicals can react even more due to long COVID. Who knows if that’s true or not, but if it is, yikes – I say it’s time for us to all skip the coloring. I have lots of different textures in my hair (which definitely looks like Don King dressed as a Halloween witch many a day, especially in the wind!), and each ‘color’ black, white, gray, and even some auburn stand up and do their own thing each and every day. Your fun-loving spirit and feisty hair to go with it make you a beautiful person. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw! You’re so sweet Shelley! Your grey hair posts are what inspired this one from me. Freedom from color is definitely the upside to not coloring. I always hated the way it looked when the grey roots showed up. Seems like they appeared more & more quickly. I think you took the bravest route. Mine was kind of like ripping the band aid off fast.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome – I’m touched that you found inspiration in my posts. That was my hope when I wrote them. I’m with you in not being a fan of the grey roots – I think that looked worse on me than full-on gray.
        I don’t know about me being more brave, you’re very brave too. Or maybe, we’re both brave to embrace ourselves as we’ve been created? xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I just loved this post about your saga with hair and with cancer. It is so well written, and so personal, yet so universal at the same time. I feel like I know you now!!! I was lucky. I was born with very dark brown hair with a natural red streak to it. I wore it straight and long, and loved it in my 20’s. Then I had it cut short in my late 30’s. In my 50’s I found a wonderful hairdresser who made me look younger with the shorter hair!! I will never forget what she said, ” your grey is coming in so beautifully, people pay to have streaks like this”. So she made me feel good about going grey. I never colored it, because my hair is very fine, and several hairdressers always told me about bad hair of women they saw who colored and permed their hair. They warned me never to do it with my type of hair. I have photos of myself in my 60’s where my hair looks great. But now I am in my 70’s, and my hair is lackluster. Not completely grey, but not beautiful like it was. I am accepting it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really glad you enjoyed this post Carol. I never know if I should write about certain things because they might be so boring or inappropriate or something. Thanks for reading! Sounds like you are one of the lucky ones with lovely grey hair. My mom had a beautiful color of grey and it had a nice wave. I guess she didn’t share that with me. Yes, it’s really damaging to both color and perm hair at the same time. Each process alters the structure of the hair.

      Like

Comments are always welcome.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑